Following on from their recent Essential Mix, the Dusky boys get behind the decks once again, this time for the San Francisco based underground music publication XLR8R. Previously we have featured a number of XLR8R mixes on this site, however if this is the first time you’ve come across their series we would highly recommend delving into their back catalogue. Notable past entries for us include; George Fitzgerald, SCB aka Scuba, Leon Vynehall, South London Ordnance, Midland, Shed among many many others. Anyone who is anyone in electronic music has most likely been snapped up by the XLR8R crew.


The Dusky mix is what you’d expect, slick beats, warm sweeping sounds that envelope you with techno grunt and house groove, apart from a horrible lat 80’s / 90’s sounding rap track  12 minutes in ‘Kool Rock Steady – I’ll Make You Dance’ this is another sweet entry into the ever reliable XLR8R mix series. If you enjoy the Dusky sound check out their upcoming Aus Music release ‘Nobody EP‘, and for those of you based in the UK Dusky will be joining us for our first party of 2013 – BBB presents Mosca + Dusky + Paleman. Happy times.

Download – Dusky XLR8R Mix 282

01 Brian Blade & The Fellowship Band “Improvisation” (Verve)
02 Henryk Górecki, Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra cond. Antoni Wit “Three Olden Style Pieces”
03 Minnie Riperton “Minnie’s Lament” (Epic)
04 Synkro “Recognition” (Apollo)
05 Iron Curtis “Never Give Up” (Midnight Shift)
06 Dusky “What I Never Knew” (Aus)
07 George FitzGerald “Every Inch (Deetron Remix)” (Hypercolour)
08 Kool Rock Steady “I’ll Make You Dance” (Trax)
09 Accent 808 “Reflection”
10 Spencer Parker “Show Him You’re the One (Italo Johnson Remix)” (Tsuba Limited)
11 Four Tet “For These Times” (Nonplus)
12 Dusky “Atone” (Aus)
13 Boddika & Joy O “&Fate” (Nonplus)
14 Dusky “Nobody Else” (Aus)
15 Dusky “Truth Capital T” (Naked Naked)
16 Michael Mayer “Roses” (Kompakt)
17 Matthew Herbert “It’s Only (DJ Koze Remix)” (Pampa)