L-Vis 1990 is probably best known for his forward thinking bass sounds and innovative Night Slugs label which he runs with label mate Bok Bok. Since Night Slugs was launched in 2008 L-Vis 1990 and crew have been hailed as significant contributors to the rapidly emerging bass sound, and of all those involved at Night Slugs it’s fair to say that L-Vis 1990 has been arguably the stronger and more prolific producer, and therefore making a full length record seems like a natural next step.


So what to expect? Well, we were lucky enough to get a 5 track preview a few months back and we were quite surprised at what we heard. It was not the sparse bass rumblings and quirky synth sounds we have come to expect but rather a much more rounded and evidently a broadly influenced electronic record. A record that plays to the crowd (in a good way) and not the minority. Broadly speaking the following quote from L-Vis 1990 sums up what to expect from the record.

“In the late nineties the likes of Daft Punk, Chemical Brothers and Basement Jaxx defined the art of the dance music album,” says James. “Their albums transcended time and any musical fads, but most of all they took you on a journey. Creating Neon Dreams for me was about recapturing these elements that made me fall in love with dance music all those years ago.”

NEON DREAMS is released on PMR Records on September 26th.

Track List

01. Vague Flashes ft. Corey Black
02. Forever You ft. Javeon McCarthy
03. The Beach
04. I Feel It
05. Play It Cool ft. Samantha Lim
06. Shy Light ft. Para One & Teki Latex
07. Cruisin’
08. Feel The Void ft. Para One & Teki Latex
09. Illusions
10. Tonight
11. Here With You ft. Para One & Teki Latex
12. Lost In Love ft. Javeon McCarthy
13. True Romance
14. One More Day ft. Javeon McCarthy & Julio Bashmore
15. Neon Dreams